TV Reviews

Sort by: Most Recent | Most Popular

Review: Louis Theroux: Miami Mega Jail

Posted by Ed Williamson at 23:46 on 24 May 2011
Louis Theroux: Miami Mega Jail
Sure, it might sound a bit like the title of a late-eighties straight-to-video Van Damme movie, but it's just good ol' Louis Theroux, diffidently doing the jailhouse rock. Again.

Review: The Missing: season one

Posted by Ed Williamson at 23:50 on 17 Dec 2014
The Missing: season one
You could look at The Missing two ways, I suppose. Either it was ultimately about what happened to the kid or about what his disappearance did to his parents. The latter was more interesting to me but the finale tried a bit too hard to satisfy on both counts, letting them cancel each other out in the end. (Spoilers.)

Review: BoJack Horseman: season one

Posted by Ed Williamson at 10:00 on 02 Sep 2014
BoJack Horseman: season one
It's a cartoon about a drunk horse, but I still think it has something interesting to say about contemporary celebrity. I will not let this Media Studies degree go to waste.

Review: The Shadow Line

Posted by Ed Williamson at 06:42 on 09 May 2011
The Shadow Line
Hey! It's a new BBC drama! It's dark! It's moody! Anyone have a flipping clue what was going on half the time? No, me neither.

Review: Louis Theroux's LA Stories: Edge of Life

Posted by Ed Williamson at 23:45 on 30 Mar 2014
Louis Theroux's LA Stories: Edge of Life
Having shed the freak-show tenor of his early work, Louis Theroux has become a documentarian you trust implicitly - even when the film ends on an implausible high note.

Review: The Following: season one, episodes 1–8

Posted by Ed Williamson at 23:00 on 19 Mar 2013
The Following: season one, episodes 1–8
I like Kevin Bacon a lot. He's the sort of actor who should really be able to elevate a TV project. And the prospect of him leading a major network drama is a great one. But The Following? It's an absolute mess.

Review: Person of Interest: season one – first half

Posted by Ed Williamson at 17:30 on 06 Nov 2012
Person of Interest: season one – first half
Here's a show that's been on for weeks and we haven't mentioned. Now it's off again till January. Ideal time for a review, I'd have thought. PRs take note: send me a DVD and I'll review it some time around it hitting the shelves in Oxfam.

Review: Misfits 3: Should that be Mi3fits?

Posted by Kirsty Harrison at 18:21 on 03 Nov 2011
Misfits 3: Should that be Mi3fits?
About a year ago, we told you all to watch series two of Misfits. You must have listened, because it's back. Excellent work, masses. But someone's gone astray and they've added a Dingle. Let's have a chat about that. A big SPOILERific chat.

Review: Helix: Season One DVD

Posted by Iain Robertson at 19:00 on 28 Jun 2014
Helix: Season One DVD
Helix's first season, out on DVD and Blu-ray on Monday, suffered for Channel 5's capricious scheduling, but has a lot to enjoy. A lot more than most things on Channel 5, anyway.

Review: Orange is the New Black: season two, episode one

Posted by Ed Williamson at 23:30 on 05 Jun 2014
Orange is the New Black: season two, episode one
Netflix's best original show is back, and for a programme about women in stasis, it doesn't half know how to throw everything up in the air. (Spoilers follow.)