Welcome to LittleBigPicture.co.uk. Make yourself at home. Tea? Biscuit?
Sign In or Register

TV Reviews

Sort by: Most Recent | Most Popular

Review: Crazy Ex-Girlfriend: season one

Posted by Ali Gray at 23:30 on 17 Aug 2016
Crazy Ex-Girlfriend: season one
It's quite rare for me to embark on a televisual adventure without at least several months of prep: five-star reviews, extensive marketing campaigns, assurances that the hours of my life I'll inevitably lose to this programme will totally be worth it. But sometimes I like to be surprised. So, with no other recommendation than the accolade "the best show with the worst title" (copyright some rando on Twitter), I started watching Crazy Ex-Girlfriend on Netflix last week. 18 glorious episodes later, I am here to give you your five-star review, your marketing campaign and your assurance that the hours of your life you'll lose to this programme will totally be worth it. Fittingly for a show about obsessive behaviour in relationships, I am late-night-phone-calls, million-text-Monday, snot-streaming-down-face-outside-bedroom-window OBSESSED with this show.

Review: The Night Manager

Posted by Ed Williamson at 16:30 on 08 Apr 2016
The Night Manager
Dayman! Uhh-AHH-ahh! Fighter of the Night Manager! Is all I could think of when I heard the title. Then I found out it had House and Loki in it, and I was on board, although still mainly for the Dayman thing.

Review: Masters of Sex: Season Two DVD

Posted by Iain Robertson at 23:00 on 31 May 2015
Masters of Sex: Season Two DVD
Yes, you thought this site consisted solely of recaps of Mad Men and Catfish nowadays. Well, surprise. We also review shows that are a little bit like Mad Men.

Review: The Missing: season one

Posted by Ed Williamson at 23:50 on 17 Dec 2014
The Missing: season one
You could look at The Missing two ways, I suppose. Either it was ultimately about what happened to the kid or about what his disappearance did to his parents. The latter was more interesting to me but the finale tried a bit too hard to satisfy on both counts, letting them cancel each other out in the end. (Spoilers.)

Review: Gotham: season one, episode 1

Posted by Ed Williamson at 23:30 on 25 Sep 2014
Gotham: season one, episode 1
Since the dawn of time, man has struggled with the eternal question. Should Batman be camper than a chicken, or dark and embittered, brooding in the shadows and all miffed, like? Well, here's FOX's solution: how about a bit of both? (Spoiler-free.)

Review: BoJack Horseman: season one

Posted by Ed Williamson at 10:00 on 02 Sep 2014
BoJack Horseman: season one
It's a cartoon about a drunk horse, but I still think it has something interesting to say about contemporary celebrity. I will not let this Media Studies degree go to waste.

Review: Hell on Wheels: The Complete Third Season DVD

Posted by Ed Williamson at 14:00 on 22 Aug 2014
Hell on Wheels: The Complete Third Season DVD
No one makes engaging drama about the people who built the first British railways, do they? No, we just get documentaries about it on BBC4 presented by men in cardigans. Did the British railway pioneers spend half their time shooting folk, throwing back sippin' whisky and frequenting mobile brothels? Probably not, and anyway, no one wants to see them do it.

Review: Masters of Sex: The Complete First Season DVD

Posted by Iain Robertson at 10:30 on 01 Aug 2014
Masters of Sex: The Complete First Season DVD
You can imagine the pitch meeting for Masters Of Sex: "It's like Mad Men – but with boobs!" Whilst it's not an entirely inaccurate description – there's lots of attractive people in fabulous period costumes, smoking, slow-burning plots aplenty and, yes, boobs (not to mention a never-ending parade of other body parts, both male and female) – it's very much its own show. For a start, at no point in Mad Men does anyone brandish a dildo called Ulysses, although Don could probably do one hell of an ad campaign for it.

Review: Helix: Season One DVD

Posted by Iain Robertson at 19:00 on 28 Jun 2014
Helix: Season One DVD
Helix's first season, out on DVD and Blu-ray on Monday, suffered for Channel 5's capricious scheduling, but has a lot to enjoy. A lot more than most things on Channel 5, anyway.

Review: Orange is the New Black: season two, episode one

Posted by Ed Williamson at 23:30 on 05 Jun 2014
Orange is the New Black: season two, episode one
Netflix's best original show is back, and for a programme about women in stasis, it doesn't half know how to throw everything up in the air. (Spoilers follow.)